Merge Users

How to merge users and what to consider when merging users.

To merge 2 users that are the same person but might have applied to a position twice with different emails or been accidentally added twice do the following.

 

WARNING: Once two users have been merged they cannot be un-merged. This action if permanent.

 

Merge Employees/Participants

  1. Navigate to the Job profile  where you wish to merge Users
  2. Select the box next to the two participants that you want to merge
  3. Click "Merge" in the table header
  4. Read and accept the merge warning
  5. Make sure the participant you want to keep is the primary user and the participant you don't want any more is in the duplicate user column.
  6. Click "Switch user" if they are not in the correct position
  7. Click "Merge"

 

Merge Applicants

  1. Navigate to the applicants' page on any SmartReq
  2. Select the box next to the two applicants that you want to merge
  3. Click "Merge" in the table header
  4. Read and accept the merge warning
  5. Make sure the applicant you want to keep is the primary user and the applicant you don't want any more is in the duplicate user column.
  6. Click "Switch user" if they are not in the correct position
  7. Click "Merge"

 

What happens when I merge users?

Each user in the system has a lot of data about them stored. Some are entered by the user themself and other data is entered by the company admins. A user will enter their answers to assessments and screening questions while company admins will enter information about interview question responses and performance. Since the data is entered and managed by different individuals the merging of this data is taken very seriously.

 

When two users are merged the following happens:

  1. Personal Fields - Any personal fields that are on the duplicate user but not on the primary user will be copied over to the primary user. Name, email, gender, date of birth, etc..
  2. Personal Assessments - Any personal assessments that the duplicate user has but the primary user does not have will be copied to the primary user record.
  3. Resume - if the primary user does not have a resume and the duplicate user does have a resume a copy of the duplicate user's resume will be created for the primary user. If the primary user already has a resume no change will be made.
  4. Job Application
    1. Any job applications that the primary user does not have but the duplicate user has will be moved to the primary user.
    2. If the primary user and the duplicate user have applied to the same job, all the information from the duplicate job application will be moved to the primary user's job application and the duplicate user's job application will be deleted. The information that is moved is shown as follows:
    3. Interviews - Any Interview that was conducted on a duplicate user's job application but NOT on the primary user's application will be moved to the primary users applications.
    4. Screening Questions - Any screening questions that the duplicate user has recorded on the job application that the primary user does not have recorded on their job application will be moved to the primary user's job application.
  5. Participant/Employee job Record
    1. If a user has two jobs that are linked to a single job profile the person doing the merge will have the option to either "Move" the duplicate job to the primary users record or "Merge" the duplicate job with the primary user's existing job record.
      1. Move - when a participant/employee job is "Moved" from the duplicate user to the primary user the duplicate job remains, but is now linked to the primary user. If the primary user already has a job linked to the profile the duplicate user has a job for and the duplicate job is "Moved" the primary user will have two job records within the same job profile.
      2. Merge - when a participant/employee job is "Merged" from the duplicate user to the primary user the duplicate job is deleted and the fields and performance data that is on the duplicate users job but not on the primary users job will be moved to the primary users job for that profile.
    2. Job Fields - Any job fields that are on the duplicate user but not on the primary user will be copied over to the primary user. Title, start date, supervisor, etc...
    3. Job Performance - Any job performance records for a specific time period that are on the duplicate user but not on the primary user will be moved to the primary user record.

 

Other questions about merging users.

 

Q: What is the duplicate user that I merged has applied to jobs outside of my company?

A: Only jobs and applications from the company that the merging users is logged into are included in the merge. Any other jobs or applications from other companies are left alone.

 

Q: What if an interview has been done by the same interviewer, for the same interview, for the same applicant, on the same job application for both the primary and duplicate user. Will both interviews show up on the primary users record after the merge?

A: No, in this case only the interview on the primary users job application will stay.